Friday, September 26, 2008

National Book Foundation: 5 Under 35

The National Book Foundation announced their 5 Under 35 list of young fiction writers "selected by a previous National Book Award Finalist or Winner as someone whose work is particularly promising and exciting and is among the best of a new generation of writers" Here's the list:
  • Matthew Eck, The Farther Shore (Milkweed Editions, 2007), selected by Joshua Ferris

  • Keith Gessen, All the Sad Young Literary Men (Viking Press, 2008), selected by Jonathan Franzen

  • Sana Krasikov, One More Year: Stories (Spiegel & Grau, 2008), selected by Francine Prose

  • Nam Le, The Boat (Knopf, 2008), selected by Mary Gaitskill

  • Fiona Maazel, Last Last Chance (FSG, 2008), selected by Jim Shepard
Although the selection criteria seems fairly arbitrary, the list looks like a good one. My (very positive) review of Sana Krasikov's One More Year is here.

No comments: