Sunday, January 25, 2009

Finalists Announced for the 2009 NBCC Awards

And the finalists are...

  • Roberto Bolaño's 2666
  • Marilynne Robinson's Home
  • Aleksandar Hemon's The Lazarus Project
  • Elizabeth Strout's Olive Kitteridge
  • M. Glenn Taylor's The Ballad of Trenchmouth Taggart


  • Dexter Filkins's The Forever War
  • Drew Gilpin Faust's This Republic of Suffering: Death and the Civil War
  • Jane Mayer's The Dark Side
  • Allan Lichtman's White Protestant Nation
  • George C. Herring's From Colony to Superpower: US Foreign Relations Since 1776


  • Paula Giddings's Ida, A Sword Among Lions: Ida B. Wells and the Campaign Against Lynching
  • Annette Gordon-Reed's The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family
  • Brenda Wineapple's White Heat: The Friendship of Emily Dickinson & Thomas Wentworth Higginson
  • Steve Coll's The Bin Ladens: An Arabian Family In An American Century
  • Patrick French's The World Is What It Is: The Authorized Biography of V.S. Naipaul


  • Rick Bass's Why I Came West
  • Helene Cooper's The House at Sugar Beach
  • Honor Moore's The Bishop’s Daughter
  • Andrew X. Pham's The Eaves of Heaven
  • Ariel Sabar's My Father's Paradise: A Son's Search for His Jewish Past in Kurdish Iraq


  • August Kleinzahler's Sleeping It Off in Rapid City
  • Juan Felipe Herrera's Half the World in Light
  • Devin Johnston's Sources
  • Pierre Martory's The Landscapist (translated by John Ashbery)
  • Brenda Shaughnessy's Human Dark with Sugar


  • Richard Brody's Everything Is Cinema: The Working Life of Jean-Luc Godard
  • Vivian Gornick's The Men in My Life
  • Joel L. Kraemer's Maimonides: The Life and World of One of Civilization’s Greatest Minds
  • Reginald Shepherd's Orpheus in the Bronx: Essays on Identity, Politics, and the Freedom of Poetry
  • Seth Lerer's Children's Literature: A Reader's History: Reader's History from Aesop to Harry Potter

The winner of the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award is the Pen American Center, and Ron Charles (of The Washington Post) won the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing.

I can't find the nominations on the NBCC's website yet, but Publishers Weekly has the story. The winners will be announced on March 12, 2009.

No comments: