Thursday, March 19, 2009

Contenders for Man Booker International Prize Announced

The Man Booker International Prize is awarded to an author every two years for the purpose of “highlight[ing] one writer’s continued creativity, development and overall contribution to fiction on the world stage.”

The list of "Contenders" for this year’s Prize has just been announced:
  • Peter Carey (Australia)
  • Evan S. Connell (USA)
  • Mahasweta Devi (India)
  • E.L. Doctorow (USA)
  • James Kelman (UK)
  • Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru)
  • Arnošt Lustig (Czechoslovakia)
  • Alice Munro (Canada)
  • V.S. Naipaul (Trinidad/India)
  • Joyce Carol Oates (USA)
  • Antonio Tabucchi (Italy)
  • Ngugi Wa Thiong’O (Kenya)
  • Dubravka Ugresic (Croatia)
  • Ludmila Ulitskaya (Russia)

Interestingly, the US is the only country with more than one “Contender.” The winner will be announced in May.

1 comment:

Philip said...

I admire Evan Connell's book from some time ago on Custer and the Northern Plains Amerindians, Son of the Morning Star.