Friday, May 29, 2009

Samuel Johnson Prize Shortlist

As reported by the Guardian, the BBC's Samuel Johnson Prize shortlist has just been announced. This prominant British prize covers all non-fiction genres, and the lists of finalists are generally quite diverse. This year, however, there's an overabundance of science titles on the shortlist:
  • Lords of Finance by Liaquat Ahamed
  • Bad Science by Ben Goldacre
  • The Lost City of Z by David Grann
  • Leviathan by Philip Hoare
  • The Age of Wonder: How the Romantic Generation Discovered the Beauty and Terror of Science by Richard Holmes
  • Quantum: Einstein, Bohr and the Great Debate about the Nature of Reality by Manjit Kumar

The winner will be announced on June 30th.

No comments: